A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Basic questions  (Read 451 times)

Offline 72hours

• I Love Pizza!
Basic questions
« on: August 24, 2019, 02:15:49 AM »
Hi,

I'm very new to pizza making and hope you can help me with a few basic questions regarding making Neapolitan style pizza.

My setup is as follows:

* I use Caputo pizzeria flour (00).
* I use active dry yeast.
* I normally do cold ferment for 72-78 hours.
* I have an Ooni pro oven which gets up to 850-900 degrees F.
* My hydration level is normally 60%.

My normal dough recipe is a slight modification of this one:

My questions are:

• What flour to yeast ration do you recommend? I've been experimenting with 1% (from the recipe above) and 0.5%, and I read on the Lehmann Pizza Dough Calculator that the recommended ratio is between 0.25-0.75%.
  • What's the recommended water temperature to activate the yeast? Previously, I used room temperature water, and the dough was so sticky and it was unworkable. Then, I read from internet and my 00 flour packaging that the water temperature should be 105F-110F, and with that temperature, my dough is no longer sticky and pretty easy to work with. But then this website recommends between 100F-105F, and the pizza bible recommends around 80-85F. I'm rather confused about this.
  • The bottom of my pizza always looks a bit burnt. I suspect that it's due to the amount of flour I put on it for launching. However, I also suspect that my oven is a bit too hot. So, what floor temperature would you guys recommend for cooking the type of dough I make?
  • Related to 3, I would like to reduce the amount of flour I put on the bottom of my pizzas, but I don't want to increase the difficulty of launching. Right now, I assemble my pizza on the table, and then move it on the peel. Is there another technique I can use while reducing the amount of flour?

Thank you so much for your help and patience.

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
    • Dough Doctor
Re: Basic questions