A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Lloyd Pans - Bottom Burning  (Read 1160 times)

Offline dasabonis

• Windsor Pizza is still the best
Lloyd Pans - Bottom Burning
« on: November 15, 2019, 01:29:11 PM »
Hi Everyone,
I have been making Detroit style Pizzas in my Lloyd Pan for about 6 months now, but I am having an issue with the bottom of my pizza getting overcooked before the top. I have been following similar dough recipes to those found in the 2 Bills thread, and using Crisco to grease the pan. Most of the recipes on that thread say to heat your oven to 500 or 550. At those temperatures, I always burn the bottom.

I am placing the Pan directly on the top rack. Does the 'metal oven rack' have a higher conductivity than a pizza stone? From your experience, would placing the Lloyd Pan on a stone soaked for an hour reduce the heat going to the bottom of the pizza?

I believe Detroit Style Pizzerias use deck ovens, which means they place the pan on stone. I am thinking this is what i need to start doing.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Offline jf7fsu

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Lloyd Pans - Bottom Burning
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2019, 01:33:31 PM »
I usually cook mine on the bottom rack position at 475 for 15 to 18 minutes. I set mine on top of a baking steel and I’ve had no issues with burning whatsoever.

Offline scott r

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizzafreaks!
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2019, 03:42:52 PM »
I have both the Lloyd pans version and standard steel uncoated pans that I had to season myself.   I have noticed that if I bake side by side with the two types of pans that the uncoated standard issue steel pans do not brown the bottoms of the pizza as much as the Lloyds.   Now I drop the temp in the oven by 30 degrees if I am using the Lloyds.