A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Help me improve at Gjelina-style pizza on a Pizza Party Ardore (incl. photos)  (Read 148 times)

Offline tellure

• I Love Pizza!
Crossposted from the dough-making subforum:

I'm a real newbie when it comes to dough and pizza making but Gjelina in Venice, CA is one of my two favorite pizza places in LA (the other being Pizzana in Brentwood) so I decided to give their dough recipe a try: https://forward.com/food/333170/gjelina-pizza-dough/

Here's a link to the photos I took documenting the process (seems like this forum only allows 8 attachments and I haven't figured out how to embed photos in the post).  Note that I doubled the recipe and froze the extra dough balls: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YyiigoT4nd-oIL0fdqWBRXkG9Sm1Ef3V

Overall I was happy with how it turned out as a first attempt but there's a lot of room for improvement.  I used Fleischmann's fresh compressed yeast cubes (although these had sat in my fridge for a week after I bought them so maybe not as fresh as they could be) and also did a much longer cold proof (5.5 days vs. the 1-2.5 days recommended) as I didn't have time during the week to make the pizza.

What worked:
>> Crust on the first pizza (Margherita with dollops of spicy Zoug sauce from Trader Joe's) was nice and airy and browned / blackened well.  This was getting into the ballpark of the crust at Gjelina but still not quite as airy as theirs.
>> Bottom of the first pizza was nicely spotted, although maybe a little bit too burned in spots? (stone temp was ~700F when it went on in my Pizza Party Ardore oven)
>> It stretched fairly well and was easy to handle.  I was going for oblong pizza shapes BTW since they fit better in my Ardore oven.

What didn't work so well: