A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Cold prove leading to loss of elasticity  (Read 766 times)

Offline Doktah

• I Love Pizza!
Cold prove leading to loss of elasticity
« on: January 14, 2020, 08:03:03 AM »
Hi, new to the forum but have been stalking this forum and others for a little while now as I develop my recipes.

I've been making pizza at home for about 15 years now. More historically in my oven with a kiln shelf or steel plate as a pizza stone, but a year or 2 back got an ooni 3 which I love. Over the last year i've been experimenting a lot and cooking for increasingly large groups at parties etc, and catering a couple of times for friends parties. I've switched from a 2 hours pizza dough to a slow cold prove which I think has improved the flavour of my dough dramatically.

I've tried a range of flours strong white bread, shop bought tipo 00 (10.5% protein content), caputo pizzeria (I think 11.5% protein) and caputo manitoba oro (tipo 0, 14% protein), and a range of hydration levels and finally settled on a method.

Flour, 58% water (I used to do 62% but find the caputo takes in less water), 0.3% yeast, 2% salt. I mix 70% of the flour with the other ingredients and allow to sit for 20-30 minutes. I then add the rest of the flour and kneed in a domestic food mixer with dough hook for about 5 minutes until you get a lovely smooth dough which stretches excellently. I then cold prove for 3-5 days, removing a few hours before use, hand stretching and cooking at 400C in the ooni.

The problem I have is that whilst the cold prove dramatically improves flavour, I find that by the time the flavour has developed (3+ days), the dough loses a lot of it's elasticity and so isn't as satisfying to stretch, tearing from time to time during the process. My main issue is this downfall in elasticity isn't consistent, and so its difficult to pinpoint whats going wrong and at what point.