A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Author Topic: Consistent white brim  (Read 286 times)

Offline carefulwiththataxe

• I Love Pizza!
Consistent white brim
« on: April 13, 2020, 09:36:40 PM »
Good evening pizza lovers.

I've been cooking pizzas at home for the last 2 or 3 months, NYC style being my only weapon of choice. However no matter what, recipe I've been using, the brim of the crust NEVER browns. Occasionally I'll get some golden/tan creeping up the sides, but that's only once the cheese is pretty much overcooked. I've seen a similar thread posted here, I took some advice but nothing really worked for me.

My latest batch was Pilsbury Bread Flour @64% hydration.
0.105 TF
2% salt
2% oil
1% sugar
0.75% IDY

I had 4 dough balls and I varied the oven temp. I went as high as 550, and as low as 475 for a longer cook. It's a gas oven, no convection. I dont know whether the temp is reading correctly, however the bottom of the pies is ALWAYS perfect. Nice deep brown with black leoparding all over. I always cook on the 0.25 inch pizza steel, after preheating the over for an hour.

I've tried switching to the broiler for 10 mins then flicking back to the oven. Will cook the pie for 3 or 4 minutes then try and brown by turning the broiler back on. White as a ghost be the brim.

Here is today's latest pie. I left the dough out for a little longer today hoping a warmer dough would brown. Instead it was just harder to work with as it was TOO soft and almost didnt launch properly.

I've read that I can put olive oil around the edge... but I'd like to think there was something I could change in my approach to aid the browning.

Thank you for reading my slightly epic tale!

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
  • Lifetime Member
    • Dough Doctor
Re: Consistent white brim
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2020, 10:33:17 PM »
What shelf position are you baking on? If you are not baking on the highest shelf position try moving your pizzas to a higher position in the oven.