Author Topic: Oil or no Oil?  (Read 557 times)

Offline Swinger-mike

• I Love Pizza!
Oil or no Oil?
« on: December 12, 2016, 08:28:49 AM »
I have been baking NY- style pizza in a wfo for a couple months now.

I have always been following some recepies of this forum which almost all contain small amounts of oil, though i find these doughs often getting too soft to launch properly into the oven

My standart dough formulas would be about.

100% strong bread or high protein flour or a 50/50 mix.
60-65% of water.
0.1-0.25% idy depending on 48h or 72h cf + 4-6h rt in balls
2-2.5% salt
1.5-2% oil
1.5-2% malt syrup

I always cf in bulk - then ball the dough and let it warm up and rise at rt for about 4-6h.
My mixing routine is always by hand for about 15 min starting with ice water, 1-2 resting periods of 20 min and some strechfolding.

I think the problem could be the temperature, as we are always outsite at around 30c, we're just building a proofer to keep the balls below 20 but yet again i wanna get things right even under bad circumstances.

My thoughts were to cut off the oil completly, reduce the water down to 59-60% and up the salt and the malt-syrup to 3% to maximise the dough strength and shorten the baking time as well. I want to achieve a very workable and stable dough for high outside temperatures.

The average baking time was around 7 Minutes at 300-310bottom heat and 370-380in the dome but I'd much prefer to be below 5 min with a nice crispy bottom that hods up well and a flavourfull crumb.

So long story short, how important is the oil for consistency and flavour? would you guys say its a key ingredient or can i work around it?
What would you change to make the dough more workable? longer fermentation with less yeast, so I'll expand the time window where the dough isnt over fermenting?
No oil? more salt?
I just felt like the oil makes my dough too soft at high outside temperatures!

I did make some dough today with 2 different bread flours.
59% water
3% salt